Unhappy Tree Friends

I was lucky enough to be invited to do some creature concept art for a very early development horror/dark comedy film with some quite original baddies based on plants.
My friend Stef had already done a pass on the idea which you can see over on his Bowwow graphics site here and he gave me the basic outline of what the film makers wanted.

I liked what he’d done, especially the weird hairy crawling guy, but decided to take a different approach.

I got a little scientific about it and talked to botanist friend(thanks Mark!) who suggested I take a look at native orchids. He then proceeded to show me all these very creepy looking flowers and stems, which looked quite spidery and not at all friendly.  I also asked him about plant movement to get an idea about how I might build something that needed to get around a bit….

I also drew some inspiration from some unexpected sources…see below.

Anyway, the client needed several versions for various reason for which I’ll remain vague in case the film gets made and the designs are used, so here are my three ‘unhappy tree friends’…

They’re really speed paints, I didn’t have much time to produce them in between other things but they were a lot of fun.

The last monster had an unusual source of inspiration in this image:

Click on the picture to find out what she’s all about for those of you who don’t know!

Many people find her beautiful, and I can see that, but I think the frame holding her set off the creepy alarm for me. Something about unnaturally long legs, almost spidery.

Matt

One thought on “Unhappy Tree Friends

  1. Pingback: Creepy Forests our speciality.. « The Optimistic Painting Blog

Leave a Reply

