A Blast from the Past!

Sometimes going through your old art work can be a bit cringe worthy. Things you thought were really good back then are… well, not so great when you’re carrying the hard earned experience you have now.

Then again sometimes it’s just fun, and makes you realise you haven’t changed much at all. You still like the same things and probably always will.

This was the feeling I got when I was thinking of posting an old animation of Lleallenasaura
I’d done in association with a new artwork of the little Australian dinosaur. The only place I could find it was as part of an old demo reel, in amongst some other quite fun stuff. I was going to edit and just post the Lleallenasaura, then caught myself smiling at much of the stuff I’d put on the reel and thought it would be fun for more people than the 2 companies who gave me work back in the day to see it.

So if you like dinosaurs, a journey through the least carbonated beer in history, bathrooms with dodgy plumbing, rockets or fish have fun watching my Demo Reel from 1996!

Technical details: Made in Alias/Wavefront Autostudio on a Silicon Graphics Workstation.(was worth in the hundreds of thousands of $ range, lucky me got to sit in front of it!)

2 thoughts on “A Blast from the Past!

  1. Not bad at all for 1996!

    I dabbled with 3D Studio (the old DOS version – well before 3DS-max) at college around the same time, then did a few commercial jobs over the next few years using “Imagine” (an old Amiga program ported to DOS, then Windows). If I remember correctly, my hardware of choice for much of that time was a 486DX2/66, followed by a “lighting fast” AMD K5.

    Ahhh, memories 🙂

    I’d post reciprocal showreel images, but they are alas lost to the sands of time 😛

Leave a Reply

