Chinese Dragon #5: How to Train(Rig) Your Dragon

After the absolute mayhem of last week when the prehistoric kitteh picture went viral and I got more hits on the blog in a single day than I usually get in a month, it’s back to semi mundane topics like the ongoing Chinese Dragon.

As I’m in animation with it at the moment with a tight deadline it’s just a quick post with the basics of the Chinese Dragon rig in Messiah.

The spine runs along a spline IK path, which I can add points to as needed.

I’m a bit of a ‘meat and potatoes’ rigger, so I’m happy for any advice Messiah rigging experts might have to make giant wiggly things move around conveniently.

Messiah seems to struggle a little with this guy as he’s pretty big, 35 meters long.

Leave a Reply

