Finally a REAL Predator..

This one is definitely for the dino-nuts out there….

This was a bit of fun having a little poke at the idea that a Tyrannosaur’s small arms precluded it from being predatory. The reasoning being that it would be unable to ‘grapple’ with its prey.

That it doesn’t take much of a leap to start thinking of plenty of modern predators which don’t qualify based on the same criteria made the idea appealing to me.

I’m not even sure it’s a controversial topic or whether the dust has settled on the issue. What I do know is that I’ve seen those little arms stopping Tyrannosaurus being able to hunt in as varied places as quite crazy ID blogs all the way to a mainstream TV documentary with the backing of a somewhat controversial palaeontologist.

I drew it all in ball point pen, which is a bit unusual as I’ve taken to drawing in Photoshop lately, the text is digital though.

When I was at school I spent all day drawing with a ball point pen. It was all I had and my teachers didn’t mind because I’d always get the work done as well as drawing away in the back of my books, on my school diary, my ruler… you name it. I still find it really comfortable to draw with, and confidence building as when you make a mark that’s it! No erasing.

5 thoughts on “Finally a REAL Predator..

  1. I still have my school ruler with one of your excellent drawings across it. When you’re famous, it could be worth something. But I don’t think I could part with it.

  2. Yes I didn’t need to decorate my school folders with tacky magazine pictures…I had my own artist to do better things and distract me in class.
    PS – His legs are a bit small considering his arms…What are his glutes like 🙂
    Must have been some prehistoric dressmaker that made those undies for him! Tailor made considering the tail and probably leather….ewwww the sweat. Glad I’m not it’s mother

Leave a comment